top of page

Sometimes I Wish Life Was A Musical




It began with headphones and a thought.


Most of the time, I’d choose music over the noise of this city. I love the view. It’s just that my favorite songs make better company. I want to sing too. Not necessarily on a professional stage but when I am happy, sad or simply have the urge to. After all, singing is better for my throat than screaming my lungs out.


Sometimes I wish my life was a musical. I do not want to continue with headphones on.


Then, I could sing out loud no matter where I am. I could confidently lift my voice and feelings and not need to hold back, which I cannot do with talking, even if it’s just talking to my parents or close friends. I could dance my way out on the streets home, on my own stage, and others would join.


Music has embraced me for so long that she has become my best friend. She knows me better than anyone. I share my highs with her, and when needed without judgment or advice, she puts her arms around me, placates me and lulls me to sleep. She’s always around and encourages me to stay as true to my feelings as much as possible. It is for her that I bravely know of storytelling again.

There were times when my relationship with storytelling was torn apart. My writing was badly affected by my stressful state of mind. I couldn’t finish a single piece in years and had no tales to tell. Reading also lost my interests. But it’s different now. Graduating from university, I have learnt a lot about myself and my surroundings and am equipped with new ideas. I am writing and pouring my thoughts and feelings into words once again. And I just know I want to be a storyteller.


And as a harmonious combination of the two, I found musicals.


I remember watching La La Land, wide eyed from the opening scene. Another Day of Sun featured a variety of people singing about their dreams, despite the serious traffic jam and intense heat on the highway. They burst out, came together, came alive and then went back to reality. Like fireworks, they bloomed only for a moment, but ever so brightly. It was the first time I realized the magic of musicals. And ever since, a special color has been added to the palette of my life.


I wandered around the streets after work today, deep in thought. The headphones were still on, but I found myself singing out some lyrics, not giving a damn about being seen. And I feel free.


I wish my life was a musical, and maybe it won’t be just a wish for long.

bottom of page